The Chaplet of the Franciscan Crown

The Franciscan Crown honors the 7 joys of Mary. It consists of 7 decades of Hail Marys, each preceded by an Our Father and followed by a Glory Be.

The chaplet consists of a crucifix, a small knot, a large one, two more small ones and a centerpiece; then a circlet of 7 decades of small beads, separated by a large one.

It begins on the centerpiece and ends on the crucifix.

To Start: Begin with the sign of the cross, which is then followed by 7 decades, each consisting of 1 Our Father, 10 Hail Marys and 1 Glory Be. (There is neither Creed nor opening prayers.)

To End: At the end of the 7 decades, conclude with 2 additionalHail Marys (in honor of the tradition of the 72 years of Mary's life), followed by 1 Our Father, 1 Hail Mary, and 1 Gloria (on the crucifix).

The 7 joys of Mary to be meditated upon are:

   1. The Annunciation
   2. The Visitation
   3. The Nativity
   4. The Visit of the Magi
   5. Finding Jesus in the Temple
   6. The Resurrection
   7. The Assumption and Coronation of Mary

This set of beads can also be used to meditate upon the Seven Sorrows of Mary.


Liturgy Archive

Liturgical Year

Daily Devotionals


Bibles & Reference


Other Reading



shopify site analytics